AD TECH PH | A total of 150 boats and 36 teams raced towards claiming the national trophy as Pioneer Epoxy National Bangkarera (PENB) Year 4 reeled off in City of Naga, Cebu from May 31 to June 03. 

Pioneer Adhesives, Inc. (PAI), in cooperation with Angat sa Dagat Organization, staged a successful run of the national boat racing event adding one more day to the initial two-day event, extending the hype caused by warm welcome of visitors who cheered for their bets.

bangkarera 1

“This tournament was designed to strengthen the camaraderie among boat racers nationwide, all of whom make a living as fishermen and boat makers,” said Alben Manuel, Assistant VP and Marketing Head of Pioneer Adhesives, Inc.

Team Pirata of Iligan City (Marvin Roldan) snatched the championship for 16-18HP category besting Team Pechanga (Hendin Valo) and Team Pirata Powerslide (PJ Bermudo) which placed second and third respectively. 

The 7-7.5HP national trophy saw Team Majestic of Bacolod City (Reyneil Barena), with two Team Cebu boats (Jerin Pasegnajin and Shanfren Silao) claiming second and third. 

Meanwhile, Team Cebu (Billy Cabello) reclaimed the crown for Angat sa Dagat category after winning it on 2017, and Team Niño of Capiz clinching the top spot under Paddle Boat Division.

John W. Spakowski II, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Pioneer Adhesives, Inc. expressed how overwhelmed he was knowing the story of the participants in joining the national event. “We are very happy on how these guys patronized the competition. The story of these guys is fantastic. Some travel for three days just to join the competition, it’s not easy for them to get here and the wonderful thing about it is when we ask them why did you come, is it because of the price money? And their answer is ‘Sir, we like the competition, we love to show our skills against the other boaters.”

The Pioneer Epoxy National Bangkarera began hitting the Philippine waves last 2016 in Puerto Princesa with 27 teams and 60 boats. In 2017, its second installment staged in Dumaguete City drew 40 teams and 96 boats. Last year, it marked a continuous increase with 58 teams and 155 boats in Iloilo City. 

Over one million pesos of cash and product prizes were given to this year’s national winners.